Trekking in Ladakha

 

The Ladakha region is located in the North of India, in the Himalayas, between Pakistan and Tibet. The main town of Ladakha, named Leh, is located at an altitude of 3,500 meters above sea level. Leh is the starting point for many different tours in the surrounding areas.

The inhabitants of this region, the Ladakhi, are Buddhists. Religion is very important to them. There are numerous monasteries and the Dalai Lama visits Ladakha at least once a year.

The Ladakhi are mainly working in agriculture and tourism.

 

Lamayuru - Markha Valley Trek

 

On this trip, the trekkers can discover the varied landscapes of central Ladakha. You will hike through a wide variety of areas, cross passes and rivers (including the Zanskar River with a gondola) and see snow-capped peaks, such as the famous Yatse Peak (6,400 m above sea level). In the lower areas, travelers can watch the Ladakhis working on the land. Visits to monasteries and various villages are also part of the travel program.

The actual tour starts in Lamayuru, a village with many old houses made of mud. Lamayuru houses the Lamayuru Palace, a Buddhist monastery that is also open to visitors.

The tour first leads through the Ripchar and then through the Markha Valley, through which a very well-known trekking route runs. After hiking through another valley (the Indus Valley), the trekkers come to Hemis. Hemis is the last stop on the journey. At the end of the tour, travelers can visit the famous Hemis Monastery before returning to Leh.

price:   

  CHF 3'800 in groups of 6+ people

  CHF 4'800 individually

price per person

Trekking in Ladakha: 

 

 

Die Region Ladakha liegt im Norden von Indien, im Himalaya, zwischen Pakistan und dem Tibet. Der Hauptort von Ladakha mit dem Namen Leh befindet sich auf einer Höhe von 3500 Metern über dem Meer. Leh ist der Ausgangspunkt für viele verschiedene Touren in die umliegenden Gebiete.

Die Bewohner dieser Region, die Ladakhi, sind Buddhisten. Die Religion ist sehr wichtig für sie, es gibt zahlreiche Klöster. Der Dalai Lama besucht Ladakha mindestens einmal pro Jahr.

Haupterwerbszweige der Bevölkerung sind die Landwirtschaft und der Tourismus.

 

     Lamayuru - Markha Valley Trek

Auf dieser Reise können die Trekker die abwechslungsreichen Landschaften Zentral-Ladakhas entdecken. Sie wandern durch unterschiedlichste Gegenden, überqueren Pässe und Flüsse (unter anderem den Zanskar River mit einer Gondel) und sehen schneebedeckte Gipfel, zum Beispiel den berühmten Yatse Peak (6400 m.ü.M.). In den tiefer gelegenen Gegenden können die Reisenden die Ladakhis bei der Landarbeit beobachten. Auch Besuche in Klöstern und Besichtigungen verschiedener Dörfer gehören zum Reiseprogramm.

Die eigentliche Tour beginnt in Lamayuru, einem Dorf mit vielen alten Häusern, die aus Lehm gebaut sind. Zu Lamayuru gehört der Lamayuru Palace, ein buddhistisches Kloster, das auch für Besucher geöffnet ist.

Die Tour führt zuerst durchs Ripchar und dann durchs Markha Valley, durch das eine sehr bekannte Trekking-Route verläuft. Nach der Wanderung durch ein weiteres Tal (das Indus Valley) kommen die Trekker nach Hemis. Hemis ist die letzte Station auf der Reise. Als Abschluss der Tour können die Reisenden das bekannte Hemis-Monastery besichtigen, bevor sie nach Leh zurückfahren.