Namaste! Welcome to Nepal!

 

The land of the Himalaya makes us think of snow-capped mountains and gently rolling hills. In fact, eight of the ten highest mountains of the world are situated in Nepal! This is how the beautiful country became the dream destination of every mountaineer.

 

Nepal  

 

Nepal lies in Asia, between India and China. The country offers the highest mountains of our planet. Tourists from all over the world come to Nepal for trekking, river rafting, bungee jumping and mountaineering. Many of them have one of the over 8,000 meter high peaks as their destination. Others come to visit the holy sites while spending time in a monastery to meditate as well as do yoga.

 

Approximately 29,187,000 people live in Nepal. There are over 100 different peoples with their own languages ​​and cultures (I myself belong to the Tamang). The official language is Nepali. Most of the Nepalese are Hindus, the second most important religion is Buddhism. Many Hindus live in the area on the border with India. As this area is very fertile, they live off of agriculture by growing rice and fruit. The country was ruled by a king until 2008; today it is a federal parliamentary republic.

 

The South of Nepal, at an elevation of around 300 meters above sea level, is flat with a lot of jungle. Between the Himalayas in the North and the jungle in the South, there is an area characterized by hills that steadily increase in altitude towards the Himalaya.

 

Many different cultures meet in central Nepal. Kathmandu, the capital, is located there. Tourists come to Kathmandu first because the international airport is located here. Many of them then travel to the mountains, where mainly Buddhists live. The people in the mountain regions live from the tourism. They work in hotels, as trekking guides, mountain guides, porters and in many other professions related to tourism.

Namaste! Willkommen in Nepal!

 

Das Land des Himalayas lässt uns an schneebedeckte Berge und sanft geschwungene Hügel denken. Tatsächlich befinden sich acht der zehn höchsten Berge der Welt in Nepal. So wird dieses Land zum Traum eines jeden Bergsteigers.

Nepal 

Nepal liegt in Asien, zwischen Indien und China. In diesem Land findet man die höchsten Berge der ganzen Welt. Touristen von überall kommen nach Nepal zum Trekking, River Rafting, Bungee-Jumping und Bergsteigen. Viele von ihnen haben einen der über 8000 Meter hohen Gipfel als Ziel. Andere besuchen die heiligen Stätten und verbringen Zeit in einem Kloster, um zu meditieren und Yoga zu machen.

 

In Nepal leben 29‘187‘000 Menschen. Es gibt über 100 verschiedene Völker mit eigenen Sprachen und Kulturen. Die Amtssprache ist Nepali. Die meisten Nepalesen sind Hindus, die zweitwichtigste Religion ist der Buddhismus. Das Land wurde bis zum Jahr 2008 von einem König regiert, heute ist es eine parlamentarische Bundesrepublik.

 

Der Süden von Nepal, auf circa 300 Metern über Meer, ist eben; es gibt viel Urwald. Zwischen dem Himalaya im Norden und dem Dschungel im Süden befindet sich ein Gebiet mit Hügeln, die gegen den Himalaya zu immer höher werden.

Im Gebiet an der Grenze zu Indien wohnen viele Hindus. Sie leben von der Landwirtschaft. Diese Gegend ist sehr fruchtbar, es wird Reis und Obst angebaut. In Mittelnepal treffen viele verschiedene Kulturen aufeinander. Kathmandu, die Hauptstadt, befindet sich dort. Nach Kathmandu kommen die Touristen als Erstes, weil da der internationale Flughafen ist. Viele von ihnen reisen dann in die Berge weiter, wo vor allem Buddhisten wohnen. Die Menschen in den Bergregionen leben vom Tourismus. Sie arbeiten in den Hotels, als Trekking-Guides, Bergführer, Träger und in vielen anderen Berufen, die mit dem Tourismus zusammenhängen.